All details this villa at: Villa Velaire at St-Martin-Vacation.com

Guest reviews and testimonials for Villa Velaire on Pelican Key, Dutch St. Maarten
WHAT GUESTS OF VILLA VELAIRE HAVE TO SAY
To leave a comment, scroll down to the bottom, or click leave a comment! here!

A client for life!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Elana H.
Date of Stay: May 2019 - Posted: 20 June 2019

Everything was exactly as advertised - No, that’s not correct - Everything was better than advertised!!
Had a wonderful stay and wouldn’t think of staying anywhere else on the island. We never wanted to leave the villa. The decor was lovely, and the view was spectacular.


Amazing vacation at an amazing Villa!!!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Meredith T.
Date of Stay: February 2019 - Posted: 21 February 2019

Me and my husband just got back from an amazing vacation at Villa Velaire! Everything was perfect from the minute we got there until the minute we left! Thankfully the villa was only 10 minutes away from the airport so we got to enjoy our stay almost immediately after we landed.
The villa is decorated beautifully and has all the amenities you could possibly want or need to make breakfast, lunch or dinner. The kitchen was stocked with more items than I have at my house at home! The keurig machine was a huge bonus for a coffee lover like me! The bedrooms and bathrooms were all decorated very nicely and also had everything you could ever need. The beds were large and very comfortable!
The best thing about Villa Velaire is the view! As soon as you step into the villa, you can see outside to the private pool and the beautiful Caribbean sea! It is so peaceful to sit outside on the patio and watch all the boats come and go. The best thing is seeing all the cruise ships pass by at the end of the day! The villa is less than 5 minutes away from a really cool beach with a beach bar. There are TONS of restaurants, bars and shops within 5-10 mintues of the villa. There is also a grocery store/market right by the villa so you can pick up any items needed to keep at the villa during your stay. Villa Velaire exceeded our expectations and we have already been talking about when we can come back and stay here again. Wonderful experience all around!


Please notice that there are no guest reviews of Villa Velaire in 2018. The villa was closed after Hurricane Irma in September 2017, and has been totally renovated during 2018. The villa is now available again, has a brand new pool and deck, a completely new deluxe kitchen and many more updates inside the house. As of 2019, the property is in perfect shape and ready for guests!


Sensational views
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: David, Derby, UK
Date of Stay: August 2017 - Posted: 19 August 2017

Idyllic location with uninterrupted sea views from the terrace and pool. Nicely furnished with charming dark wood furniture. Well equipped kitchen, comfy beds, safe gated community, easy access everywhere.


Best Vacation for the third time
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Susan S., Williamsburg, Virginia
Date of Stay: June 2017 - Posted: 11 July 2017

We enjoyed another fabulous stay at the Villa. This was our third time at the Villa, and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. Each time we come to the island we rent a car and drive to one of the many beaches on the island. We love hanging out at Karakters, which is a hidden gem and one of our favorite spots in Simpson Bay! If you have a drink or have a breakfast, lunch or dinner (the food is fantastic) the beach chairs/umbrella are for free.
Orient Beach is also fantastic, since there is a constant sea breeze at this time of the year.
The Villa is oceanfront so there is a constant refreshing sea breeze. We would sit out in the morning for breakfast, enjoy the view, and take a dip in the pool. Then we have the same routine in the evening dip in the pool and cook out on the grill or you can go out to one of the many restaurants located in Simpson bay. Try the grilled lobster at Lees!
The Villa is in a perfect location; it is just a few minute drive to a lot of stores, restaurants and bars!


The ABSOLUTE BEST place to stay!! We will be back! Kim and staff do an AMAZING job!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Matt & Ty R.
Date of Stay: June 2017 - Posted: 17 June 2017

I really can't say enough how wonderful our stay was here! From the moment we landed we were taken care of and the Villa was beautiful! It looks just like the pictures!! The view was amazing and hearing the waves every night just makes you so relaxed! The bed was comfortable, the kitchen stocked with any utensil you could need, and the pool outside was such a bonus!! Kim and her staff do an incredible job! We have traveled a ton and stayed at many VRBO's but this one was by far the best! Thank you Kim and company! We can't wait to come back and stay again on the beautiful paradise of St. Maarten!!!!


The best villa on St. Martin
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Mike & Barbara M., McMinnville, Oregon
Date of Stay: April 2017 - Posted: 9 May 2017

This was our 5th trip to St. Martin. After staying at this villa last year we were so impressed with Kim and her staff that at the end of the 2 week stay we called her and booked this year's trip. To anyone who uses websites it is always a little bit of a crap shoot as to whether the photos actually represent the property or are 10 year old photos. Kim keeps this place up better than any we have used anywhere. It is hard to find an ocean front with your own private pool at an affordable price. This unit has it all. Both bedrooms are true master suites that adjoin the private massage room. It has indoor and outdoor dining rooms a modern living room and fully stocked kitchen. Kim's staff from your personal greeter who takes you from your rental car station to the villa, the maids who do a remarkable job to your pool boy are all discreet and professional. Kim even leaves you with a cell phone to use on the island so you don't get stuck with international call billing on your cell phone. The Wi-Fi works great so for those who feel; they must keep in touch you can. I am a senior contributor on Trip Advisor. I don't sugar coat my reviews. This is a villa you will love with an ownership and staff that take pride in this wonderful villa. Mike & Barbara. McMinnville, Oregon


Wonderful Winter Escape
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Peter F.
Date of Stay: March 2017 - Posted: 1 April 2017

My wife and I and another couple booked this unit based upon the pictures and previous reviews. Initially I was somewhat apprehensive as we had never been to St Maarten before and one always wonders if the pictures and reviews are too good to be true - they were not ! We all remarked on Kim's attention to detail and how everything went as planned. The day we arrived we were met by a lovely young lady that did a wonderful job of orientation and delivered us to the condo. The unit is beautiful and the views are better than the pictures posted on the web site. We had a wonderful 2 weeks and the villa felt like home - we all agreed that after a busy day on the island it was great to come back to dip in the pool and watch the cruise ships sail by. We had a wonderful time -Thank you Kim for making our winter escape so wonderful. Peter Lynn Wayne and Faye


Wonderful location. Villa was in excellent condition
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Steve & Cathy, Central Pennsylvania
Date of Stay: January 2017 - Posted: 4 February 2017

View was incredible. The villa was beyond our expectations.


Pelican Bay St Maarten
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Tim R.
Date of Stay: December 2016 - Posted: 22 December 2016

Having never been to St. Maarten before, this vacation rental was a blind pick for us and what a great pick it was. Everything about this rental was perfect from the initial contact with Kim all the way through to the final check out things could not have gone better. The location was perfect. While we wanted to cook some of our meals in house to save money we were on vacation and wanted to eat out also. This is the exact location for that. Within 1 mile we had great grocery stores, and so many good restaurants we could not possibly hit then all. Had we been farther north or on the French side, I do not think we would have had that. When it cane to cooking in, there was everything that you could possibly need available from pots & pans to Wine openers. The condo was a perfect place for two couples to stay. It had two identical master bedroom suites with individually controlled thermostats and their own bathrooms. The downstairs was spacious and the deck was outstanding with it's beautiful view of the ocean and your own private pool. We spent many hours in the morning watching the sun come up and the boats coming and going. The first day, Ellen met us at the car rental place and guided us right to the condo. She let us in and showed us around answering any questions we had. She left us with a phone to call if we had any further questions or concerns. She was great and very knowledgeable. The cleaning people were just outstanding. They came in and were very friendly and business like. They went right to work and when they left the place was spotless. They even washed and put away some dishes that we had left in the sink and had not got to ourselves yet. I can not say enough good things about those two. Overall, This was probably the best vacation rental we have stayed in to date. I would highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to St. Marten.


We will be back!!!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Mona S., Binghamton, New York
Date of Stay: September 2016 - Posted: 18 October 2016

First time staying in Villa Velaire. It was everything that the pictures displayed. Very tasteful and comfortable. The morning sun was our favorite having stayed many places in St Maarten. Kim was excellent to work with and very professional checking on our stay. We really enjoyed the service Laurine gave us and she was friendly and accommodating to all our needs. I highly recommend renting this Villa! We will be back! Thanks Kim for everything.


Our stay was amazing and wonderful!!!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Diana from Missouri
Date of Stay: July 2016 - Review Submitted: 8 August 2016

Villa Velaire was exactly as advertised. Kim was amazing to work with and made sure our stay was perfect!! My husband and I traveled with our good friends and the house was perfect for couples. The maid service came twice a week to clean and leave fresh towels. We were left a cellphone to contact Helena, our local contact, in case we need something or had questions about the island. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was fully stocked. I cannot express how wonderful this place is!!! It was perfect for rest, relaxation, and good times with friends!! Thank you Kim!!!


Villa Velaire was everything and more!!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Steven Lynch
Date of Stay: July 2016 - Review Submitted: 26 July 2016

Villa Velaire was fabulous, it was more than I expected. Kim was very easy to work with and was very informative on all the details. We especially enjoyed the pool and the views from the back deck! We have family in St. Maartin who have a dive and boat tour operation, so we spent most of our time on the water and visiting most of the Islands in the area. Kim,s place was very comfortable and well decorated, beds were very comfortable, My wife had to bake and decorate a cake for the wedding we were down their for, and most everything was already on hand!! The air worked well, which was a plus for me.We enjoyed our stay here very much, and would recommend this property to anyone!! We will be back, maybe as soon as the the snow starts flying in Colorado !


Best Vacation Ever!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Susan S., Williamsburg, VA
Date of Stay: June 2016 - Review Submitted: 2 July 2016

This was our second time staying at the Villa Valaire, and we had a fantastic time. Thanks to Kim we had great service, we had everything needed to make our stay feel like a home away from home. We enjoyed venturing out everyday to all the different beaches. Our favourites were Orient Bay, Friars Bay, Bay Rouge, and Simpson Bay (Karakters). Karakters has a great appetizer platter and great Mango Coladas. We also enjoyed a grilled Lobster dinner at Lees in Simpson Bay. Most of the times we just cooked out at the villa and enjoyed the views of the ocean and the ships and boats passing by. We especially enjoyed the pool that we could dip in and sit by in the morning and evenings. St. Martin is a wonderful island, and you should rent a car and explore a different beach or part of the island. St. Martin is truly a friendly island, the people are so friendly and helpful.
Susan & Richard (Williamsburg, VA) Meera & Tim (Fayetteville, NC)


Wonderful!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Jackie W.
Date of Stay: June 2016 - Review Submitted: 20 June 2016

My friend and I stayed at Villa Velaire for 4 nights from June 3-7...It was the perfect place for us to call our home base as we explored St Martin for the first time! I did a lot of research before deciding on VV, and I was pleasantly surprised at the entire experience from communicating with the owner to the personal touches and care which were given to every detail of our stay. The Villa is beautifully decorated, comfortable, and well stocked...it exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed waking up to beautiful sunny skies and taking a dip in the private pool overlooking the gorgeous turquoise ocean, while planning our day's activities. I would recommend this to friends and would also love to return with my family. Thank you Kim for your generous hospitality!


Fantastic house on the Dutch side
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Liz Devitt
Date of Stay: March 2016 - Review Submitted: 23 April 2016

My husband, friend and I stayed at Villa Velaire for 7 nights over Easter, 2016. The villa is stunning and has everything you need to have a very comfortable stay. I echo the comments in the other post - Kim was a great host, from ensuring someone met us at the car hire, through to checking in by email to make sure everything was satisfactory. The villa is located in a very convenient spot - close to supermarkets, bars and restaurants. We had a fantastic time and would absolutely recommend this place to others.


The best villa rental on St. Martin
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Guests from Oregon
Date of Stay: April 2016 - Review Submitted: 19 April 2016

My wife & I have been to St. Martin multiple times and each time have rented a different villa. Villa Velaire is by far and away the best rental we have found. The owner is very attentive to your every need from an excellent maid, pool boy, and local representative to care for your every need. They even left a prepaid cell phone to use for making calls on the island. The condition of the villa is exactly as the photos depict. This has not been the case in the last few rentals we used. Everything worked and was in excellent condition, the pool was just the right size and the view was amazing. I am a senior contributor on Trip Advisor and almost never give anybody a 5 star rating. Kim the owner deserves it and we are already booking our return trip.


Best rental on St. Martin
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Mike & Barbara M.
Date of Stay: April 2016 - Review Submitted: 19 April 2016

My wife & I stayed at Villa Velaire from April 4th to April 14th, 2016. This was our 3rd trip to St. Martin and our 3rd different rental. What a relief when we walked into the condo and found it to be exactly as portrayed in the photos. So many have photos that must have been taken years earlier. A real nice touch was having the villa representative meet us at the car rental and take us to the villa. After seeing us in, giving us the tour, and making sure our wi-fi worked, left us with a pre-paid cell to use on the island to make reservations and such. For once everything worked and if anything the villa seems larger than the photos show. Pool is just the right size and the view is perfect. The maid cleaned the villa till everything shined, left us her number just in case we needed anything. The owner checked in by e-mail just to make sure we are happy and see if there is anything she could do to make our stay more enjoyable. We can not be more happy to recommend this rental to anyone. You will not be disappointed. We are already booking our return visit for next year. Kim does a great job and is the most attentive owner we have ever found.


Great Stay at Villa Velaire!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Michael J.
Date of Stay: March 2016 - Review Submitted: 15 April 2016

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 kids ages 5 and 7) stayed at Villa Velaire in March, 2015 and had a great time. The property is just as nice as the pictures indicate. If anything, the place seemed a little larger in real life than the pictures indicted.
This was our first stay on St Martin, although we had been to the island a few times as cruise stops. It was neat to be able to see the cruise ships come through in the morning and evening while sitting by the pool.
We met Kim's representative at the car rental agency once we got to the island and followed her to the Villa. The road to the Villa has several turns and was a little intimidating on the first run...I wasn't sure I was going to be able to find my way out...but even though the road has a few turns, there is really only one way to go, so once you drive it a few times it was fairly easy. There are a few pot holes and speed bumps on the road, we had rented a Honda Civic with no suspension, so it would have been nice to have an SUV, or something with a little higher profile.
I was a little nervous about driving, but it turned out to be mostly a non issue. They seem to have an aversion to street name signs, which was a little challenging at first, but being an island..it was almost impossible to get lost for very long. Even in heavy traffic, other drivers seemed to be very accommodating with letting you in / out of the flow of traffic. People seemed to use their car horn as a friendly gesture...as a "thank you" for letting them in..or for telling you to go ahead.
We used the kitchen in the condo for about half of our meals and ate out for about half. We did find a larger grocery store (Carrefour) just on the north side of the causeway that was large, well lit ,and well stocked with lots of selection.
Having the kids did presented a few small challenges as far as eating out. Only about half the places we went to had specific kids menus and none had crayons etc. I would note that while the service in most places was fine, it did tend to be on "island time". With kids you mostly want things to move along at a steady pace. So be prepared for that if you have childre. The only really negative experience we had on the trip was the car rental. I would not use Paradise Car Rental again under any circumstance.
Overall, we had a great vacation and we would definitely recommend Villa Velaire to anyone looking for a St Martin get away.


Amazing beyond words!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Tim & Cyndi, Minnesota
Date of Stay: January 2016 - Review Submitted: 28 February 2016

We have been traveling to St Maarten for five years now. We decided to rent a villa rather then stay in a timeshare resort because I wanted it to feel more homey and private. It was everything and so much more. We loved the location as it was very familiar to us. What we loved most of all was the amazing pool/veranda area. It was so beautiful, right on the ocean, and so very private. Our two most favorite days were the days we stayed in and enjoyed the villa. It is beautifully decorated , has every amenity and every single thing we could have possibly needed. It was complete paradise from start to finish. Kim was wonderful to work with every step of the way. We loved James at the gate and the gal who showed us to the unit was so kind . We will definitely rent Villa Vellaire again when we visit St Maarten. This is the first time I cried when we left!


Simply Paradise...the villa swept me away!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Annemarie R.
Date of Stay: January 2016 - Review Submitted: 23 January 2016

Just returned from vacation...12 days at Villa Velaire....this villa exceeded all our expectations. So tastefully decorated and perfectly equipped with all the amenities you could want. Ideally located....slightly off the main strip for peace and quiet...yet close enough to all the amenities ...restuarants, beaches, and shopping. We stocked up with breakfast food and snacks and thoroughly enjoyed every day the fabulous patio deck and plung pool. Happy hour was typically pool side as we watched all the cruise ships and yachts sail by. Enjoyed 2 evenings in simply kicking back...cooking some local fish and enjoyed the lovely views. Most relaxing vacation that we have had in a long time. St. Maarten is a great vacation island...so much to offer...definitely recommend renting a car to see all that this island has to offer. You will not be disappointed in staying at Villa Velaire...can't wait to return!


Just stayed at Villa Velaire for the 2nd time, and will be back for a 3rd!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Melanie, Cherry Hill, NJ
Date of Stay: October 2015 - Review Submitted: 2 November 2015

Me and my wife just got back from our 2nd stay at Villa Velaire, and I honestly forgot how wonderful the Villa is. From the second we walked into the Villa, we felt like we were at home. The fully stocked kitchen is always wonderful so we can sleep in and make breakfast on our own time. There is truly nothing better than breakfast and coffee on the patio overlooking the ocean. The view is truly breathtaking, and I always wish I could freeze time in those quiet moments. Like last time, we spent most of our days exploring different beaches, but it is always wonderful coming back to the Villa and spending time in our own private pool. I honestly didn't think we would use the pool that much, but we were in it every afternoon. It is so private and secluded, and its nice to get away from the hustle and bustle every now and then. The Villa has a grill now which was wonderful! Although we love trying different restaurants in St. Maarten, it was really nice to just relax at the Villa for 2 nights and cook out on the patio. Its just another little touch that truly makes you feel right at home. The Villa is within minutes of lots of different beaches, shops, restaurants and bars. It truly is the perfect location. I honestly could not say one bad thing about our past 2 experiences at Villa Velaire. Me and my wife love St. Maarten and plan on staying at the Villa when we return again next year. We wouldn't think twice about staying anywhere but Villa Velaire. A special thanks to Kim for being so easy to work with when making our reservations and helping us with our accommodations. She has been truly wonderful to work with!


We had a wonderful week at Villa Velaire with our family
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Maureen P.
Date of Stay: October 2015 - Review Submitted: 19 October 2015

We looked at a lot of vacation rentals before we booked this one and were torn between a few that were right on the beach and Villa Velaire. I can say with absolute certainty that we made the right decision to stay at this villa. This is the first time I have rented from VRBO where we got exactly what we were expecting. The pictures are actually accurate and the amenities were excellent. Pelican Key was a wonderful area to stay. There were plenty of places we could walk to if we wanted to (bakeries, restaurants and grocery stores). We spent mornings and evening on the wonderful terrace, enjoying watching the cruise ships pass by. The terrace feels like being on a cruise ship and was just a great relaxing place to sit. Not having a beach right at the villa encouraged us to get out and see all the great beaches that St Martin has to offer. We spent every day at a different beach and loved them all. Favorites: Baie Rouge, Mullet Bay, Pinel Island. We also spent a day at the pool at Loterie Farm while our teenage daughters did the zip line. The villa had every amenity that we needed. The kitchen was very well equipped. The twice during the week maid service was perfect and the person who cleaned it did a great job (she even folded our laundry!) Both the internet and the TV service worked great and it was a very nice touch that they provided a cell phone for the villa. The beds were comfortable and it was lovely listening to the rain on the roof during the night. Being met at our rental car agency was another great touch. Being able to follow someone out to the villa while you are still getting a feel for the island is such a great idea. I think Kim has really thought out the details with this rental. And she was so helpful with recommendations for places to eat, excursions, etc. Sitting by the private pool with a glass of wine at the end of the day was my favorite part of everyday. Such a relaxing and wonderful place. One final note on things to do. Our favorite day was a "Fun Sail" on the Celine Too, catamaran charter (www.sailstmaarten.com). It was a full day that included breakfast, lunch, snorkeling, drinks, etc. It was a bargain for the price. I would highly recommend this villa to a family or for a couples getaway. We will definitely come back to it if we return to St Martin.


Villa Velaire... 10 nights in Paradise!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Ray N.
Date of Stay: June 2015 - Review Submitted: 19 July 2015

"Just Superb".'.. From the 'meet & greet' at the airport to welcome us to St Maarten till the moment we left, myself and my wife had the most amazing time staying at the truly magical 'Villa Velaire' at Pelican Key. Situated perfectly overlooking the Caribbean Sea the views, peace & tranquility that this villa offers must be described as simply 'Paradise'.
The villa is immaculate and offers everything you have at home if not more,the kitchen has every utensil required for cooking,we did stay in a couple of days and I cooked either in the kitchen or on the gas BBQ that is on the patio area just by your very own private pool, yes to have your own pool is a dream, the view out to the Caribbean, the gently breeze of the sea your own pool and a chilled bottle of Chardonnay 'just heaven'.
The bedrooms have there own tv and each have there own 'on suit' shower room, the beds are just awesome too, we slept so well. The living area is so homely it has such a relaxing feeling, especially when the patio doors are open and you can feel the breeze coming in of the sea. We really don't have any negative comments about Villa Velaire it is seriously a 'serene magical' place to stay on the beautiful island of St Maarten, there is even a mobile phone provided to take out with you should want to call a cab etc, just perfect.
I have to mention the owner of the villa, Kim. Long before your holiday Kim is on hand via email etc to offer advise or any questions you may need answering, her communication is truly excellent, and if you need any help while at the villa Kim's team are just a phone call away!
Just a short stroll from the villa is a small supermarket they stock most things you need, also the Red Piano Bar is a must of a Monday evening with a fantastic live band that rocks till about 2AM! Really good! Also 'La Bon Appetite' a French restaurant offering a good choice of food.
Now, Maho Beach is the place to go, watching the KLM 747 and Air France A340 pass just feet above your head is so exhilarating it's incredible, it's a must! We spent a couple of days there,the Sun Set Bar just on the beach and close to the airports run way offers food and drink from early morning till late at night... Yes, very good indeed !!
Well folks, all I can say is that we had the best time ever in St Maarten it's truly awesome, never felt threatened, the local people are so friendly and helpful and to top it all off we stayed at 'Villa Velaire' Thanks Kim, Tremendous!! Ray & Gail


Incredible!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Ray from Key West
Date of Stay: June 2015 - Review Submitted: 18 July 2015

What an incredible place! Very private, quiet and clean. Close to everything, they even greet you and show you around. Down to the filtered water in the fridge, cable internet and robes, you'll not want for anything. Amazing view, full kitchen, total relaxation and tranquility with a massage and meditation room, just wow. I will definitely book this place next year!


Amazing Stay at Villa Velaire!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Jennifer E.
Date of Stay: June 2015 - Review Submitted: 1 July 2015

My husband and I stayed at Villa Velaire for a much needed romantic getaway. The villa looks just as pictured, beautifully decorated and with a very private terrace with a pool overlooking the ocean. We had a couples massage on the private terrace (by Touch of Handz) while listening to the sound of crashing waves. This was immensely relaxing. The kitchen is well stocked with all the cookware and utensils you might need. The security guard and cleaning lady were both very friendly as well. This beautiful villa is an excellent value for the amenities it offers. Our stay at Villa Velaire was like a second honeymoon. We did not want to leave! Thank you, Kim, for sharing your beautiful villa!


Great Villa!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Mary Beth, Buffalo, NY
Date of Stay: March 2015 - Review Submitted: 23 March 2015

We had a person meet up with us at car rental location and took us to the Villa. A great touch when you have no idea where you are going. Upon arrival we had a welcome gift, wine and fruit. Also a nice touch. The ocean views were beautiful. The Villa was well equipped and very clean. Everything you need to cook in and not go out if you so chose. Gas grill was awesome. Pool is nice to come home to after a long day at the beach. Good location/nice neighborhood. Once down the hill you could walk to casinos, restaurants, beaches and shopping with ease. I would recommend this Villa - It was a great vacation.


Best Vacation Ever!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: GG, Pennsylvania
Date of Stay: March 2015 - Review Submitted: 17 March 2015

This stunning oceanfront Villa is exactly as described- spacious, clean and beautifully decorated with everything you need. We loved relaxing by the pool just watching the cruise ships sail by. We enjoyed making breakfast in the fully equipped kitchen as well as outdoor grilling on the patio. We had a great day at Pinel Island, went sight seeing at St. Louis, enjoyed the many lovely restaurants- especially Skip Jacks (great seafood) and Sarafina's in Merigot. We also enjoyed a wonderful day at Mullet Beach. Thanks to Kim for her helpfulness each step of the booking! We highly recommend this Villa!


More than we ever expected!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Jefferis M., Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Date of Stay: March 2015 - Review Submitted: 10 March 2015

Villa Velaire is a diamond in the rough. My wife and I were excited to get to the Villa, and once we arrived we were impressed by its charm and understated elegance. It's lacation was convient to many attractions. The views from the pool were breathtaking, especially when the cruise ships were coming in to port. The night life and fine dinning experiences we had were outstanding. Over all an experience we will never forget. We'll definitely be back!


A fabulous private townhouse villa on Pelican Key
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Canuck, senior traveler from Toronto, Canada
Date of Stay: February 2015 - Review Submitted: 22 March 2015

We loved our stay at Villa Velaire. My wife and I, together with my brother and his wife, stayed at this lovely, spacious villa for three weeks in February and March 2015. It was everything the photos and description had promised. The attention-to-detail in the furniture and decorating truly made it feel like a home-away-from-home, albeit with a much better location given the winter we have been having this year at home.
For two couples, the arrangements could not have been better. The two spacious bedrooms with their 4-poster, comfortable, king-size beds and vaulted ceilings were very private and made sleeping easy. While the ensuite bathrooms were on the smaller side, particularly in the bedroom facing the sea, they were certainly adequate and nicely updated, with large shower stalls.
The living and dining rooms are stylish. It was lovely being able to play our favourite music on the CD/USB stereo system while we relaxed in the living room, enjoyed dinner in the dining room or prepared a meal in the well-equipped kitchen. There is a DVD player connected to the TV in the living room. There are also a number of board games, books and DVDs provided by the owner and a propane-gas Weber grill on the terrace.
We love going out and checking out new restaurants and revisiting old favourites while on the island, because there is so much choice available. We also enjoy the convenience of making a snack or a meal at the villa and just being able to chill out in private. Everything you could think of has been provided for you in the kitchen, even cooking oil and some basic spices - as well as paper towels, dishwashing liquid and dishwasher tabs. In the daytime we would open the living and dining room doors and let the wonderful sea breezes blow through while we lounged in the living room or on the pool deck.
In the evening you can close the windows and doors and the ceiling fans and air conditioners in every room will keep you perfectly comfortable. Having a main floor powder room was very convenient. The pool terrace is probably the best feature of this villa. It was very private and quiet. You can choose either sun or shade at anytime during the day, simply by moving the four padded chaise lounges and two Adirondack chairs to your preferred location. Being able to take a dip in your private pool was a real luxury. While it could sometimes be a bit cool early in the morning, it was lovely and refreshing in the hot afternoon sun. There is also a teak table and chairs to dine al fresco on the covered part of the terrace.
The terrace allows you to enjoy the stunning vistas out to sea and view and hear the crashing of the waves in the inlet on the cliff below. It was fun to watch the passing cruise ships and other yachts and boats as they steamed past, to and from Philipsburg harbour. You can see the islands of Saba, St. Eustatius and St. Barts in the distance, especially on a clear day. Be sure to bring binoculars with you! While there was some plane traffic nearby to the east, generally in the afternoon on the way out of Simpson Bay airport, it was not at all annoying. In fact, we would usually toast them with our afternoon cocktails and empathize, somewhat smugly, that they were returning home to winter and we were still here!
It is tempting to just spend your days lounging at the villa, and we did just that a couple of times. However, we always rent a car to visit the wonderful beaches, restaurants and other sights on the island, and this year was no exception. Having a car makes it easy to pick-up groceries and come and go as we please. There is convenient parking right outside the door of the villa and there is a gate and security guard at night controlling the entrance to the Pelican Cove complex. The staff at Villa Velaire and Pelican Cove were unfailingly polite and professional. They all seem genuinely interested in ensuring that you enjoy your stay. From our first encounter with Maayke, the villa's rep, on arrival at the Hertz car rental agency, we knew we were in good hands. She was also prompt in resolving a couple of minor issues that arose while we were there.
Our maid, Laureen, came twice a week, which was just perfect for us. She was wonderfully intuitive and did a great job of keeping everything neat and tidy. She was also happy to answer any questions, provide suggestions and help solve any issues. And Brady, the pool man, always had a ready smile and wave. The outdoor staff at Pelican Cove, from the night security to the gardeners, were equally friendly and professional and did a great job keeping the complex in tip-top shape. Finally, Kim, the owner, was always open and available and made arranging everything very easy. We were fortunate enough to meet several of our neighbours while we were there. Some were short-term, like us, some spend the whole winter (lucky them!) and others are full-time residents. Like us, they all loved the location. We would not hesitate to return.


Amazing vacation at this beautiful home away from home!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Meredith, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Date of Stay: February 2015 - Review Submitted: 1 March 2015

Me and my husband just returned from Villa Velaire the other week and we are already looking at the calendar to see when we can book another trip back! We can't say enough good things about the Villa, and the island of St. Maarten! Villa Velaire truly felt like our home away from home. The Villa was decorated beautifully, and filled from top to bottom with any amenities we could have ever needed. The kitchen was fully stocked so we could have cooked if we wanted to (however we did prefer to eat at the local restaurants since we were on vacation). The furniture was all very comfortable, especially the bed! The bathrooms were all upgraded and the air conditioning worked fantastic so we were very cool during the hot days and nights. Our favorite part of the day was in the morning when we would sit out on the patio having coffee overlooking the water. Its completely private and we felt like the only two people in the world. Having our own private pool was pretty incredible also. We did go to the beaches every day, but it was nice afterwards to come home and be able to relax in our own pool with no one else around. Villa Velaire is very close to tons of fantastic beaches, restaurants, bars and shopping. There was a food store right around the corner that had everything we could have needed, however like I stated above, we did prefer to eat at the local restaurants every day. The people on the island were all so friendly and welcoming and the weather was simply gorgeous, especially during these cold winter months at home in Pennsylvania. I honestly can't say enough wonderful things about our experience. I would HIGHLY recommend this Villa to anyone who is interested in taking a trip with their partner/spouse, family or friends. You will not be disappointed!


Best Week of my Life at Velaire!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Eric, San Diego, CA
Date of Stay: January 2015 - Review Submitted: 24 February 2015

My wife and I traveled with our long-time friends to St. Maarten. My wife and I had been to the island 3 times before, but this is the first time we rented a villa. We rented a villa in the Bahamas last year, but this place blew that away. As soon as we walked into Velaire, we were blown away. The view was unreal and the place had all the comforts of home, we loved the massage room and the robes. We pretty much went to the beaches every day (best one was Orient Beach on the French side), but the one day that we decided to stay in, was just as relaxing. The outside area gets sun all day and it was nice being able to eat lunch with that view. We loved the privacy that our past hotel experiences didn't offer - it is going to be hard to stay in a hotel after this experience. We will definitely be back. A special shout out to Kim for making the whole booking process so easy and relaxing, thanks again!


Great Vacation!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Jamey Adams Keller, Texas
Date of Stay: September 2014 - Review Submitted: 5 October 2014

The villa is exactly as described! It is comfortable and clean. The pool is great for cooling off and relaxing after a day of sight seeing or beaching. The kitchen has anything you could need for cooking all your meals at home (although we didn't). The bed was comfortable and it was nice to fall asleep to the sound of the ocean. I can't say enough good things about this place!


Perfect honeymoon
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Stuart and Yves from Amsterdam, Netherlands
Date of Stay: August 2014 - Review Submitted: 17 August 2014

This villa is the perfect location. Near shops and nightlife and yet completely private. Comfortable home from home. Beautifully furnished and totally relaxing. Great staff. Hated only one thing about villa velaire, and that was having to leave!


A dream!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Susan S. from Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Date of Stay: July 2014 - Review Submitted: 26 July 2014

We traveled with our adult sons, and simply enjoyed everything about the Villa.The Villa is fully stacked with everything you need to cook a meal. We used the grill almost daily to cook a lunch or dinner. We had a rental car, and explored the St. Martin daily. We enjoyed taking a morning dip in the pool before having breakfast and heading out to the beaches. Sitting on the terrace by the water, and enjoying your morning coffee or a lovely beverage in the evening was so relaxing. We enjoyed all the different beaches, and snorkeling. Our favorite beaches were Orient Bay, Baie Rouge, Grand Case, Mullet Bay, Cupe Coy, and Maho. We also took a day trip to Anguilla and enjoyed a day at Shoal Bay. We had a fantastic time in St. Martin, and coming back to the Villa each day was simply a dream come true.


This was paradise!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Savanna from Ohio
Date of Stay: June 2014 - Review Submitted: 26 June 2014

It was our first time in St. Maarten and we truly enjoyed our stay. The villa more than met our expectations. The bedrooms were very spacious, the family room was homey and the view from the pool was incredible. Plus, you could not have stayed at a better location. It was close to great restaurants but far enough away you could enjoy the peace and quiet. The staff was also extremely friendly and made our stay very pleasant. Thank you again Kim for making our trip possible. It will truly be a vacation we will never forget.


Legend
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Larry, Flower Mound, Texas
Date of Stay: June 2014 - Review Submitted: 22 June 2014

A wonderful place to stay. The property is immaculate and very well maintained. Above average amenities as well. Kitchen very cook friendly. But, what makes this property is the private pool that looks out to the ocean. 2 of the 6 days we were there, we did not leave the property.


Unbelievable getaway!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Melanie, Cherry Hill, NJ
Date of Stay: June 2014 - Review Submitted: 9 June 2014

Me and my husband (along with another couple) just returned from Villa Velaire, and let me tell you, it was difficult to leave! In hindsight, I wish we would have booked for another week! The villa is absolutely breathtaking! As soon as you walk in the door, you are hit with a view of the patio overlooking the ocean. We spent countless hours on the patio... coffee in the morning, dips in the pool in the afternoon, and cocktails before a night out on the town. Since we traveled in June, the temperature was a little hot and sticky. I was worried that the villa would also be hot and sticky. But the air conditioners worked great, and I actually needed a blanket to cover up because I got a little chilly! The villa has all the amenities you could ever need, and then some. I was surprised to find the kitchen completely stocked so we could make our own breakfast in the morning. We preferred to eat most meals out, but it was nice to cook up some eggs in the morning so we had more time to relax on the patio taking in the beautiful view. The villa is in very close proximity to lots of beaches, restaurants and bars, food markets and shops. We rented a car for the week to make getting around a little easier, but everything you could ever want or need is just minutes from the villa. There is honestly not one negative thing I could say about the villa, or our trip to St. Maarten. We were on a beautiful island, in a stunning villa and we felt like we were right at home. We will absolutely be returning to Villa Velaire as soon as possible! I am trying to talk my husband into making it a yearly trip for our anniversary! I would HIGHLY recommend this villa to anyone who is thinking about renting! I wish I could give it more than 5 stars because it really was that good!


Stunning Views, Very Private
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Robert, Southbury, CT
Date of Stay: April 2014 - Review Submitted: 29 May 2014

Perfect place to relax and enjoy the ocean views from the private pool.


Ahhh...!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests:Jeff and Phyllis, Buckingham, PA. USA
Date of Stay: April 2014 - Review Submitted: 26 April 2014

When we arrived at the Villa we were impressed with its quietly stated elegance! It litterally "hugged" us with it's charm. We immediately outside to the pool dewck and were amazed at the scenic beauty of the views, and, just on que, a beautiful cruise ship was pulling into the harbor! The kitchen and bathrooms were fabulously appointed and the bed rooms were once again quioetly stated elegance. Everyone on the island from the time we arrived umtil the time we left were friendly and curtious, willing to help us with directions to beautiful hidden beaches. The snorkling was great and the scenic beauty of all the beaches we visited were breathtaking. Having morning coffee at the pool was just one of the many highlights of our trip. We many found many hidden treasure of places to dine and one of the most fabulous French pastry shops of all time! (the eclaires we out of this world!). We can hardly wait to book our next trip back to Villa Valarie next year and every year after that! Jeff and Phyllis, Buckingham, PA. USA


Villa Velaire
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Joyce
Date of Stay: February 2014 - Review Submitted: 6 March 2014

This lovely home by the sea is in a spectacular location, perfect for viewing all the sea faring vessels that go by! It is close to all amenities that you could need and it is filled with many amenities you want in a vacation home! The housekeeper is a delightful woman who takes great pride in making sure this lovely space will be in tip top shape for your stay! There are very few place on the island that offer the amazing location that this one does! I highly recommend it!


Martha's Vineyard review
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Nancy, Martha's Vinyard
Date of Stay: January 2014 - Review Submitted: 12 February 2014

Beautiful villa with amazing view, great location, very private and quiet. Would not hesitate to return there even though there are so many choices!


The perfect home away from home
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Lori, Richmond, VA
Date of Stay: December 2013 - Review Submitted: 9 January 2014

I stayed in this beautiful home with 2 friends and enjoyed every minute of my 8 day stay! The view from the pool is stunning and the house is stocked with absolutely everything you could ever want or need to make you feel at home. The neighborhood is very quiet and sleeping with the windows open to only the sound of the waves to lull you to sleep in the beautiful, comfortable bedrooms is an added bonus. The notebook with information about the house and the area is extremely useful and packed full of terrific recommendations. The only drawback is that there was not enough time in the week that we stayed to get in everything we wanted to see and do ... guess that means we'll have to come back! I look forward to it and would very highly recommend this lovely property to anyone visiting St Maarten.


Ahhh...!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: from New Jersey
Date of Stay: October 2013 - Review Submitted: 22 November 2013

What an amazing stay we had in St. Maarten! The perfect getaway for us. We traveled with another couple and had such a great time. Not only was the house beautiful but so comfortable. We really had to motivate ourselves to even leave. With the private pool, amazing views, perfect kitchen for homemade meals there was no need. Of course, very glad we did as we were able to find some wonderful spots nearby for dinner and drinks and you really must walk round and see the beauty. Perfect stay! Thank you...we look forward to next year! We are already picking out 2014 dates!


Best Vacation Ever!!!
Rating : Excellent : *****- Good : -- Average : -- Fair : -- Poor : --

Guests: Captain Colton (Doylestown, PA/USA)
Date of Stay: October 2013 - Review Submitted: 15 October 2013

My wife and I just got back from a week at Villa Velaire and it was one of the best trips we have ever gone on! We are new to the whole rental home thing, but Kim made the process so seamless. From calling her on the phone, to answering all our questions, to the car rental - it was perfect.

The home was recently purchased and redecorated and you can tell the owners put a lot of thought into everything - the kitchen was fully stocked with dishes, pan, anything that you would need to make a nice dinner - we actually only cooked breakfast a few times at the house, we had several breakfasts at Bon Appetite (they have the best coffee) and had some great dinners in Maho and Grand Case.

We went to the beaches most days, but being able to come home to our private pool was fantastic, that was one of the reasons that my wife and I decided to not stay at a hotel and explore the home rental aspect. We were tired of screaming kids and not having an escape. The massage room was also a nice touch. I have never seen anything like it before, so it was really great to be able to get a massage overlooking the ocean - we both got a massage with Brain at a Touch of Hands - highly recommend him!

All in all, this was a perfect trip, we would definitely recommend Villa Velaire to any traveler visiting St Maarten. Thanks again Kim for making this so memorable!

We would love to see your review added. Please, share your experience with other travelers!
When closing this window, your main browser window remains open.

© All rights reserved by St-Martin-Vacation.com.
Last update 21-Jun-2019